x
Breaking News
0

U.S. stock futures flat with Draghi, jobs and oil inventories in focus

Stock MarketsSep 07, 2017 06:46AM ET
Saved. See Saved Items.
This article has already been saved in your Saved Items
 
© Reuters. Wall Street futures flat ahead of ECB decision, jobless claims and oil stockpiles

Investing.com – Wall Street futures pointed to a flat open on Thursday as investors looked ahead to the European Central Bank’s monetary policy decision, U.S. labor market data and the most recent read of U.S. inventories.

The blue-chip Dow futures slipped 7 points, or 0.03%, at 6:42AM ET (10:42GMT), the S&P 500 futures rose less than a point, or 0.01%, while the tech-heavy Nasdaq 100 futures edged forward 6 points, or 0.10%.

The day’s main event will be the ECB’s decision on interest rates before the U.S. market open at 7:45AM ET (11:45GMT).

With policy expected to remain unchanged, the major focus will be on ECB president Mario Draghi's press conference 45 minutes after the announcement, as investors look for more clues on when and how the ECB could start unwinding its massive quantitative easing program.

Expectations as most experts believe that Draghi will hold off until October to make an unofficial announcement, though markets are looking for the ECB chief to perhaps give hints that the euro zone monetary authority is discussing policy opinions for tapering asset purchases.

Any remarks on the strength of the euro will also be under the microscope as the cause of what is expected to be a slight reduction to ECB inflation forecasts at the same time it may increase its growth outlook.

At the start of Draghi’s press conference at 8:30AM ET (12:30GMT), traders will digest weekly jobless claims along with second quarter nonfarm productivity.

With regard to U.S. monetary policy, investors will keep an eye on a string of appearances from Federal Reserve officials who will be speaking Thursday evening on the economy.

Atlanta Fed president Raphael Bostic and New York Fed chief William Dudley will be speaking at separate venues at 7:00PM ET (23:00GMT) while Kansas City Fed president Esther George will speak at 8:15PM ET (00:15GMT Friday).

Traders will also pay close attention to the release of official U.S. crude inventory data at 11:00AM ET (15:00GMT) with expectations for a build of 4.022 million barrels.

After markets closed Wednesday, the American Petroleum Institute said that U.S. oil inventories rose by about 2.8 million barrels in the week ended September 1, missing expectations for a 4 million barrel increase.

Traders are also keeping an eye on Hurricane Irma, ranked as one of the five most powerful Atlantic hurricanes in the last 80 years.

The Category 5 hurricane battered Puerto Rico and devastated a chain of small Caribbean islands late on Wednesday and is expected to hit Florida by Sunday afternoon, a prospect that has roiled orange juice and gasoline futures markets as well as shares of insurance providers.

U.S. crude futures traded down 0.28% to $49.02 by 6:45AM ET (10:45GMT), while Brent oil gained 0.57% to $54.41.

Elsewhere, global stock markets were mostly higher, as appetite for riskier assets improved after U.S. President Donald Trump and congressional leaders unexpectedly agreed on Wednesday to raise the government debt limit until December.

The agreement led Wall Street to close higher a day earlier with positive sentiment spilling over to Asia. Equities there closed Thursday on a relatively mixed to positive note, with benchmarks in Tokyo and Seoul closing higher, while markets in mainland China slumped.

European stocks registered solid gains ahead of the ECB decision and Draghi’s press conference. At 6:46AM ET (10:46GMT), the European benchmark Euro Stoxx 50 gained 0.85%, Germany’s DAX rose 1.03%, while London's FTSE 100 traded up 0.40%.

U.S. stock futures flat with Draghi, jobs and oil inventories in focus
 

Add a Comment

Comment Guidelines

We encourage you to use comments to engage with users, share your perspective and ask questions of authors and each other. However, in order to maintain the high level of discourse we’ve all come to value and expect, please keep the following criteria in mind: 

  • Enrich the conversation
  • Stay focused and on track. Only post material that’s relevant to the topic being discussed.
  • Be respectful. Even negative opinions can be framed positively and diplomatically.
  •  Use standard writing style. Include punctuation and upper and lower cases.
  • NOTE: Spam and/or promotional messages and links within a comment will be removed
  • Avoid profanity, slander or personal attacks directed at an author or another user.
  • Don’t Monopolize the Conversation. We appreciate passion and conviction, but we also believe strongly in giving everyone a chance to air their thoughts. Therefore, in addition to civil interaction, we expect commenters to offer their opinions succinctly and thoughtfully, but not so repeatedly that others are annoyed or offended. If we receive complaints about individuals who take over a thread or forum, we reserve the right to ban them from the site, without recourse.
  • Only English comments will be allowed.

Perpetrators of spam or abuse will be deleted from the site and prohibited from future registration at Investing.com’s discretion.

 
Are you sure you want to delete this chart?
 
Write your thoughts here
 
Replace the attached chart with a new chart ?
Post
Post also to:
1000
Your ability to comment is currently suspended due to negative user reports. Your status will be reviewed by our moderators.
Please wait a minute before you try to comment again.
Thanks for your comment. Please note that all comments are pending until approved by our moderators. It may therefore take some time before it appears on our website.
 
Are you sure you want to delete this chart?
 
 
Replace the attached chart with a new chart ?
Post 1000
Your ability to comment is currently suspended due to negative user reports. Your status will be reviewed by our moderators.
Please wait a minute before you try to comment again.
Add Chart to Comment
Confirm Block

Are you sure you want to block %USER_NAME%?

By doing so, you and %USER_NAME% will not be able to see any of each other's Investing.com's posts.

%USER_NAME% was successfully added to your Block List

Since you’ve just unblocked this person, you must wait 48 hours before renewing the block.

Report this comment

I feel that this comment is:

Comment flagged

Thank You!

Your report has been sent to our moderators for review
Disclaimer: Fusion Media would like to remind you that the data contained in this website is not necessarily real-time nor accurate. All CFDs (stocks, indexes, futures) and Forex prices are not provided by exchanges but rather by market makers, and so prices may not be accurate and may differ from the actual market price, meaning prices are indicative and not appropriate for trading purposes. Therefore Fusion Media doesn`t bear any responsibility for any trading losses you might incur as a result of using this data.

Fusion Media or anyone involved with Fusion Media will not accept any liability for loss or damage as a result of reliance on the information including data, quotes, charts and buy/sell signals contained within this website. Please be fully informed regarding the risks and costs associated with trading the financial markets, it is one of the riskiest investment forms possible.
Continue with Google
or
Sign up with Email