x
Breaking News
0

U.S. stock futures show cautious gains ahead of ISM manufacturing PMI

Stock MarketsApr 03, 2017 06:57AM ET
Saved. See Saved Items.
This article has already been saved in your Saved Items
 
© Reuters. Wall Street futures point to slightly higher open amid manufacturing data

Investing.com - Wall Street stock futures pointed to a cautiously higher open on Monday as the second quarter kicked off and investors waiting for a reading on U.S. manufacturing activity.

The blue-chip Dow futures edged forward 10 points, or 0.05%, by 6:53AM ET (10:53GMT), the S&P 500 futures inched up less than a point, or 0.01%, while the tech-heavy Nasdaq 100 futures advanced 5 points, or 0.09%.

On the economic front, market players will focus Monday on the release of the ISM manufacturing purchasing managers’ index (PMI) for March at 10:00AM ET (14:00GMT), which will be simultaneously published along with February construction spending.

Signs of upbeat factory growth in Europe and Asia gave the global manufacturing sector a solid boost heading into the second quarter.

Euro zone factory growth hit nearly a six-year high in March according to the manufacturing purchasing managers’ index (PMI) released by ISH Markit on Monday.

Germany led the region in factory growth though France and Italy also saw stronger growth.

The U.K. was an exception that saw the activity unexpectedly slow in March.

A private survey on China's manufacturing on Saturday came in below market expectations but still showed a healthy expansion after a similar survey by the government on Friday pointed to strong growth in the sector.

Back stateside, the parade of appearances by Federal Reserve (Fed) officials will continue on Monday.

New York Fed chief William Dudley will give a discussion on financial conditions at 10:30AM ET (14:30GMT).

Philadelphia Fed President Patrick Harker speaks at 3:00PM ET (19:00GMT), while Richmond Fed President Jeffrey Lacker is due to deliver comments at 9:00PM ET (1:00GMT on Tuesday).

Futures traders are pricing in around a 50% chance of a hike at the Fed's June meeting, according to Investing.com’s Fed Rate Monitor Tool.

Oil prices wavered between small gains and losses on Monday after reaching the strongest level in almost four weeks amid optimism that OPEC will extend its production-cut deal beyond June.

Crude rose around 5% last week, the biggest weekly rise in four months, bolstered by increasing optimism that major producers will keep output capped in the second half of the year.

U.S. crude futures was unchanged at $50.60 by 6:56AM ET (10:56GMT), while Brent oil slipped 0.09% to $53.48.

U.S. stock futures show cautious gains ahead of ISM manufacturing PMI
 

Related Articles

Add a Comment

Comment Guidelines

We encourage you to use comments to engage with users, share your perspective and ask questions of authors and each other. However, in order to maintain the high level of discourse we’ve all come to value and expect, please keep the following criteria in mind: 

  • Enrich the conversation
  • Stay focused and on track. Only post material that’s relevant to the topic being discussed.
  • Be respectful. Even negative opinions can be framed positively and diplomatically.
  •  Use standard writing style. Include punctuation and upper and lower cases.
  • NOTE: Spam and/or promotional messages and links within a comment will be removed
  • Avoid profanity, slander or personal attacks directed at an author or another user.
  • Don’t Monopolize the Conversation. We appreciate passion and conviction, but we also believe strongly in giving everyone a chance to air their thoughts. Therefore, in addition to civil interaction, we expect commenters to offer their opinions succinctly and thoughtfully, but not so repeatedly that others are annoyed or offended. If we receive complaints about individuals who take over a thread or forum, we reserve the right to ban them from the site, without recourse.
  • Only English comments will be allowed.

Perpetrators of spam or abuse will be deleted from the site and prohibited from future registration at Investing.com’s discretion.

 
Are you sure you want to delete this chart?
 
Write your thoughts here
 
Replace the attached chart with a new chart ?
Post
Post also to:
1000
Please wait a minute before you try to comment again.
Thanks for your comment. Please note that all comments are pending until approved by our moderators. It may therefore take some time before it appears on our website.
 
Are you sure you want to delete this chart?
 
 
Replace the attached chart with a new chart ?
Post 1000
Please wait a minute before you try to comment again.
 
 
 
Report this comment

I feel that this comment is:

Comment flagged

Thank You!

Your report has been sent to our moderators for review
Add Chart to Comment
Disclaimer: Fusion Media would like to remind you that the data contained in this website is not necessarily real-time nor accurate. All CFDs (stocks, indexes, futures) and Forex prices are not provided by exchanges but rather by market makers, and so prices may not be accurate and may differ from the actual market price, meaning prices are indicative and not appropriate for trading purposes. Therefore Fusion Media doesn`t bear any responsibility for any trading losses you might incur as a result of using this data.

Fusion Media or anyone involved with Fusion Media will not accept any liability for loss or damage as a result of reliance on the information including data, quotes, charts and buy/sell signals contained within this website. Please be fully informed regarding the risks and costs associated with trading the financial markets, it is one of the riskiest investment forms possible.
Continue with Google
or
Sign up with Email